The Most Successful IPL Franchises

the historically most successful ipl cricket franchises, over time

Are the Mumbai Indians or Chennai Super Kings the most successful cricket team in the IPL? A rubric was developed to determine which team has been the most historically successful. The points rubric awards progressively more points the further the team went in the playoffs. The results suggest that the Super Kings have been slightly more successful than the Indians.


16 pts – Title winner
8 pts – Reached final
4 pts – Reached preliminary final / semi-final (2008-2010)
2 pts – Reached semi-final (2011-present)


1. Chennai Super Kings – 112 pts.

The Super Kings have participated in 9 Indian Premier League Finals, by far the most in the league. The team won the IPL title 4 times, in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. They also have the highest win percentage of matches among all teams in the IPL. The team’s achievements are even more impressive considering that they were suspended for two years due to their involvement in the spot-fixing controversy.

2. Mumbai Indians – 96 pts.

The Mumbai Indians have won the IPL title a record 5 times. The team’s most recent title came in 2020. However, the Indians have only been to the finals on 6 occasions, so it is lower on this list than the Super Kings. It is also considered to be the most valuable Indian Premier League franchise, with a value of over 1 billion US dollars.

3. SunRisers Hyderabad – 54 pts.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (known as the Deccan Chargers until 2012) won the IPL title in 2009 and 2016. They also reached the final in 2018 but lost to the Chennai Super Kings. However, the team has struggled recently. After the 2020 season, the team has not even made it back to the playoffs.

4. Kolkata Knight Riders – 52 pts.

The Knight Riders also has two Indian Premier League titles. The team won in 2012 and 2014. They also reached the final in 2021 but lost to the Chennai Super Kings. Kolkata also made the playoffs three consecutive seasons between 2016 and 2018.

5. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 40 pts.

The Royal Challengers have been IPL runners-up three times, from 2009 to 2016, but have yet to secure a title victory. In 2011, Bangalore won the regular season, but lost to the Chennai Super Kings in the final. Furthermore, the team has made it to the playoffs in each of the last three years.

graph of the most historically 
 successful ipl cricket franchises


IPL Franchise200820092010201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022
Chennai Super Kings8122844526064727272889696112112
Mumbai Indians008121430324848646480969696
Sunrisers Hyderabad01620202022222238404850545454
Kolkata Knight Riders00021818343436404444445252
Royal Challengers Bangalore0812202020202432323232343640
Rajasthan Royals161616161620202222222424242432
Delhi Capitals48881212121212121216242828
Gujarat Titans0000000000000016
Punjab Kings444444121212121212121212
Rising Pune Supergiant000000000888888
Gujarat Lions000000004444444
Lucknow Super Giants000000000000002

1 Comment

Leave a Reply